Will I Outgrow Shyness?

scan00136.jpg  Que stion from Red: 

I have been shy since I was 5.  I remember feeling like I should not say anything.  I remember feeling afraid to say anything.  In class I never raised my hand.  If I was called on I would barely be able to answer.  Iwould turn red and feel queasy.  At around 15 I felt a little more comfortable about answering in class but not much.  Now I am 19 and I still feel shy.  Will I outgrow this feeling of shyness?

Answer:

Red, I do not want to be the bearer of words that you do not want to hear.  However, your question deserves an honest answer.  You can outgrow certain types and levels of shyness.  You can go through a phase where you are shy and out grow that. 

What you have expressed to me is not a phase.  Shyness is in your nature.  If you want to overcome your shyness you will have to work at it.  You can not take a passive approach and hope you will outgrow it. 

There are ways to do this.  You can seek the help of a therapist.  You can also consider medication.  You can work on this on your own.  You can get my report to help you with this. 

Whatever, choice you make if you want to overcome your shyness you need to take action.  Waiting will not help.  As a matter of fact waiting may only reinforce your shyness and make it more difficult to overcome it. 

Make a decision and take action.

Marcia, Your Confidence Coach

Leave a Reply

