Caution and Shyness

scan001315.jpg

Once Bitten, Twice Shy by Vesata Williams 

Your name is Dracula
You suck the life right out of me
With a thing called reality
Why didn’t I fall for you
You took my space and made it yours
Now my mind’s playin’ tricks on me

Who’s to blame
I’m havin’ a dream, I can’t wake up
That’s what I keep tellin’ myself
Oh, oh, oh, oh

There’s no shame
In losin’ control, I’m crackin’ up
That’s what the doctors keep tellin’ me
I keep screamin’

Once bitten, twice shy
Keep one eye open for the bad guy
I keep screamin’
Once bitten, twice shy
And be suspicious when the moon’s high

Your eyes are cold as ice
I feel them strain’ straight through me
With a hint of intensity
Why must it be this way
Why am I here tied up today
In a room full of past mistakes

Who’s to blame
I’m havin’ a dream, I can’t wake up
That’s what I keep tellin’ myself
Oh, oh, oh, oh

There’s no shame
In losin’ control, I’m crackin’ up
That’s what the doctors keep tellin’ me
I keep screamin’

Once bitten, twice shy
Keep one eye open for the bad guy
I keep screamin’
Once bitten, twice shy
And be suspicious when the moon’s high, high, high

Who’s to blame
I’m havin’ a dream, I can’t wake up
That’s what I keep tellin’ myself
Oh, oh, oh, oh

There’s no shame
In losin’ control, I’m crackin’ up
That’s what the doctors keep tellin’ me
I keep screamin’

Once bitten, twice shy
Keep one eye open for the bad guy
I keep screamin’
Once bitten, twice shy
And be suspicious when the moon’s high

Once bitten, twice shy
Once bitten, twice shy
(Took my love and made me crazy)
(Now everything’s so hazy)

Once bitten, twice shy
(Ooh, you know you’re no good, you’re no good, no)
Once bitten, twice shy
 

I picked  out this song because it appeared to have something to do with shyness.  As I read the lyrics I think it more has to do with learning a lesson, being cautious, taking care of yourself, knowing what is going on and things like that. 

I have a friend Dave. He considers himself to be avant garde. What that means is that he is attracted to people that are edgy. Some of them are actually over the edge. Some of them have stalked him, physically abused him, and caused him grief. Is he once bitten, twice shy? Absolutely not. He still jumps into situations while his more rational friends tell him to watch out.

Dave would say he is living life. Others might say he is crazy or stupid. He never complains when the people he associates with turn out to be extreme. He is just confused and surprised when it happens. Recently he told me about a new person in his life. I told him this did not sound like it would have a positive outcome. He did not disagree with me but he wanted to take a wait and see attitude.

What is the difference between caution and shyness? This is the definition of caution.

alertness and prudence in a hazardous situation; care; wariness:Landslides ahead—proceed with caution.
. a warning against danger or evil; anything serving as a warning:By way of caution, he told me the difficulties I would face.

     to warn or advise:

And this is the definition of shyness.

      Bashful; retiring.

 

easily frightened away; timid.

Suspicious; distrustful I am a bit shy of that sort of person

to drawback; recoil

There seems to be an overlap in definitions when it comes to the word “wary”. It seems that shyness can be protective. It can protect you in a positive way. Perhaps Dave needs some shyness.

The definition of shyness regarding retiring and timid is the one that shy people experience and probably the one trait they do not enjoy.

On one hand we have Dave – fearless and on the other hand you – shy It is not up to me to ask you to change, that is for you do decide. I do think that if you feel your life is mostly about being retiring, timid,bashful, and easily frightened away then you would want to make a change. How much of your day to day life is colored by feeling and acting shy? Is it too big a part for you? If yes then it is time for a change. By looking at this it will be easier for you to make that change. You will see that you spend too much time retreating and you do not want to. If you do not take this look then perhaps you will justify each retreat and not be able to get the impetus to change.

So take a good look at your day to day existence. Do you went more from your life? If so then take the first step to overcoming your shyness.

Marcia, Your Confidence Coach

Leave a Reply

